The Opiume Ensemble: Soprano: Judith Dodsworth / Tenor: Xie Kun / Baritone: Paul Hughes / T'ang Quartet: Ng Yu Ming, Ang Chek Meng, Lionel Tan, Leslie Tan / Sheng: Loo Sze Wang / Guan, Suona: Law Hang-Leong / Dizi, Xiao: Chiu Siu-Wai / Percussion: Margie Tong / Conductor, Piano, Music Director: Belinda Foo

Music & Libretto:  Mark Chan

A Chamber Opera / Oratorio in 6 Parts:

1.  Discovery

2.  Intoxication

3.  Economics

4.  Addiction

5.  Conflict

6.  Epiphany

Commissioned by the Singapore Arts Festival 2004 & the New Vision Festival Hong Kong 2004

The Production was Co-Created by Mark and Casey Lim.

Inspired by the events of the illicit opium trafficking that took place in China in the 19th Century, Opiume is a modern view of not only what took place but also a comment on how we live our lives now:

the difficulties of cross-cultural interaction, the power play, the dangers and seduction of drug use and also the harsh reality of economic trade and imbalance.


No comments

You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>